Flint logo

Monitoring live progress during activity sessions

Teachers can monitor student progress during an activity in real time. Flint flags students who need help so you can offer timely support.

Updated September 26, 2026

Activity owners/editors (aka the teachers) can see student progress in real-time and get alerts from Sparky when students need help, even before they submit their sessions for feedback and/or grading.

Where to view live updates

These live updates are visible on the activity overview page. This monitoring comes in two parts:

  • "Needs Attention" alerts
  • Live session viewing

The Needs attention and All sessions sections outlined on the activity overview page

"Needs attention" alerts (Live)

These flags are visible to activity owners when students express confusion, ask for help during sessions, or fail to engage meaningfully during sessions.

Three Needs attention alerts flagging different students during a live session

Teachers can click on a specific alert to see that student's work so far and the message that caused Flint to trigger the "Needs attention" alert.

An expanded alert showing a student's message and the conversation that triggered it

You can dismiss the alerts once you've addressed the concern or deemed it not an issue.

The dismiss checkmark highlighted on a Needs attention alert card

You can view all alerts, open and dismissed by clicking "View all" on the activity overivew page.

The View all link highlighted above the Needs attention alerts

Live session list (Live)

The table of sessions will update as student responses come in and are submitted.

The All sessions table listing live and submitted sessions with grades

You can click into any of these sessions to see the conversation so far, no matter if it's still in progress or complete. The sidebar also helps you navigate between sessions really quickly!

The session list in the sidebar highlighted for switching between students' sessions

Important Notes

  • Only activity owners can see these live updates
  • Students can only see their own sessions, not their classmates' sessions.
  • "Needs attention" comments are hidden from students both on the activity overview page and within their session.